Book Review | Passenger

20983362Title: Passenger
Author: Alexandra Bracken
Pages: 486
Genre: Historical Fiction, Young Adult, Science Fiction
Published: January 5th 2016 by Disney-Hyperion
Rating: 3.5 Stars
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository |

Synopsis:

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them—whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are playing, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home… forever.

My Review:

The first few chapters were not my favorite. I felt bored and was ready to give up on reading. However, I pushed myself to continue reading. It wasn’t until Etta traveled into a different time, when I finally started to enjoy the book. Even though it did take me awhile to read it. However, I think it was because of all the details that were in it. Or that there wasn’t much stuff in the book to grab your full attention. I did keep putting this book down because it can be long and slow at times but worth the read.  I’m not saying this book is horrible because I did enjoy it.

The world building was amazing! However, sometimes there was just too much detail. Especially with what the characters were wearing. The only reason why I enjoyed those details a little, was because it made me feel like I was there. I enjoyed the writing. Just wish there was less detail and more attention grabbing action.  I was hoping for more fighting then there was. Hopefully in the next book that will happen. I did like how Alexandra took her time to research the stuff she needed to write this story.

“It’s our choices that matter in the end. Not wishes, not words, not promises.”

Etta is definitely persistent. Also at times she annoyed me. She kept talking about how she had to save her loved ones and she wasn’t careful with her surroundings. She seemed to not care that there was people out there coming after her. Even though she had that happening, she came close to death multiple times. Thankfully she had Nicholas there with her. Otherwise she probably would have died. 

Both Etta and Sophia are strong females in their own unique way. Which I was happy to see two different girls being strong. Normally we only see one in books. 

Sophia is a character that you will hate at the moment but then as the series continues, you’ll end up loving . I say that because of how things end up at the end of the book. Something about her during that scene made me change my opinion of her. Then there was the fact that she was willing to do whatever to prove to the men that she can do what they can. 

“What a privilege it was to never feel like you had to take stock of your surroundings, or gauge everyone’s reactions to the color of your skin.”

Nicholas character surprised me a little.  With how calm he was when he was in tough situations or when someone made a negative remark about him. Since he is half African American. That is what made me like him the most. Though I will say maybe that has to do with what he’s been through and learned to not let anything get to him. He’s able to not let anyone bring him down. Also I feel bad that he’s stuck in the contract that he no longer wants to be apart of. Since he loves being at sea and that is all he wants to do. 

The romance was kind of insta love but not. They of course felt something for each other at first but they didn’t pursue it right away. Which is something that I like. I dislike it when characters right away pursue their feelings for each other. Otherwise it feels unrealistic. Loved that the love interest was half African-American. 

“You do have a choice, you know,” Etta told her after a moment. “There is always a choice.”

I do suggest reading this book because I do know everyone’s opinion is going to be different. So, there might be something you disagree with me about. With that being said I am already anticipating the next book. I need to know what is going to happen with everyone and their journey to finding the answers that the need. Also, please know that I didn’t say much because I didn’t want to spoil anything. Thank you for reading my review. Please remember I am new to doing this. 

Leave a Reply

