Book Review | The Kiss of Deception

Title: Th16429619e Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1)
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Pages: 496
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adults
Published: Published July 8th 2014 by Henry Holt
Rating: 5 Stars
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:
A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

My Review:

This was the book that got me out of my reading slump. I absolutely loved this book and cannot wait to continue the series. The way that there is a 3 person point of view made it so interesting. And the way it was done was so well executed. Never felt like I was lost in the story. Also loved how you cannot figure out which of the guys is the Prince and the assassin. That made me love the story even more than I already did. I was pulled in from the beginning all the way to the end.

“Who was this girl who thumbed her nose at two kingdoms and did as she pleased?”

Lia, the main female character is such an excellent heroine. From the first moment you meet her, you can tell that she is going to grow and become stronger than she already is. Especially with everything that she has gone through in this book. It made me want to jump into the book and give her a hug. Even with her having to leave her family because she doesn’t want to be married off to someone she’s never met. So her and a maid, runaway to live an ordinary life. Which I was amazed to see a Princess do. Also enjoyed how much she cared about the maid who turned into a friend.

“I will find you.
In the farthest corner, I will find you.”

The love triangle is so well done. Most time it can seem overwhelming but in this book it didn’t come across that way. When she meets them, you have no idea if Rafe is the Prince or the assassin, or if Kaden is the Prince or the assassin. Also liked how the guys weren’t trying overwhelm her with their feelings.

“We all have our different skills. You’re patient to a fault, which sometimes doesn’t work to your advantage. I, on the other hand, have the patience of a wet cat. Only on rare occasions does that come in handy.”

Even though you don’t know which guy is which, I kinda figured out who the prince was right away. With that being said, Mary made it so hard to tell because at first you’re like oh he’s the assassin. Then later you’re like no wait, he’s the prince. So I give her major credit for trying to trick you.

“Today was the day a thousand dreams would die, and a single dream would be born.”

How the book ended left me wanting more. For me, it is one of the best cliff hangers in book history. Though I have not read a lot of books, I still feel that way. Thankfully I own the second book and can read it. My reason for the 5 star rating is because there wasn’t one thing I disliked about the book.

Leave a Reply

