Book Review | Glass Sword

Title: Glass 15441253-_sy540_Sword (Red Queen #2)
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Pages: 444
Genre: Fantasy, Dystopian, Young Adult
Published: February 9th 2016 by HarperTeen
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:

If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul.

My Review:

First off I really liked how the book picked up right where the first one left off. Most pick up several months later, which I’m okay with. Though I really enjoyed this. My reason for picking up this book is because I enjoyed Red Queen and needed to know more to the story. Also I liked a few of the characters and wanted to know what happens to those affected by what happened.

Mare is a Red and you can see the difference between her from the first book and this one. She is now more confused on what to do. I mean she goes from being in the Stilts, to being a maid, then a lost Princess (since she has Silver powers), to now being hunted. She has gone through so much in such little time. Being accused of a fraud since she is a Red, and they cannot have Silver abilities. I felt bad for her. However, I did wish she would have shown more emotion. As in her being so frustrated to the point she breaks down and lets out a loud scream with her power being released. From everything that has happened to her. Though I understand why that probably couldn’t happen. It still would have been nice to see.

Mare is also struggling with trusting people which is understandable. Especially because of what has happened. Then of course because Maven betrayed her. So, it breaks my heart seeing people trying to be friendly but yet she has a wall up. All because she doesn’t want the same stuff to happen all over again or lose someone she cares about.

“No matter how much I might want to feel him, I cannot. I must keep my eyes ahead, and away from the fire of a fallen prince. I must freeze my heart to the one person who insists on setting it ablaze.”

Cal is a Silver and is torn with what happened. From him being forced to kill his father to then being hunted by his own people. He’s been quiet and distant but also has shown emotion from everything he has went through. One thing I really disliked, was how he was treated in this book. At any point he could’ve attacked but never did. Yet he was still treated like he was a threat. Even with him struggling with what is happening in his life he never once tried to harm anyone.

I’m still rooting for Cal and Mare. That’s who I wanted her with since Red Queen. So far I haven’t changed my opinion. Also hoping that their relationship continues to build because they’re end game for me. It’ll break my heart if Mare ends up with someone else. Which if that happened, I’d rather her be single than with anyone else.

In my opinion Kilorn, also a Red, seemed to be annoying at times. I like his character but just wish he would back off a little instead of following Mare around. I understand that he has feelings for her and that he is concerned but it’s too much. Though he made me feel sorry for him because you could tell he wished he was like Mare and the others. Instead he was just a fisher boy joining everyone on this journey. He was helpful at some points and he knew how to fight. It’s just you could tell he was a little jealous.

In my opinion, Kilorn and Mare seem to have more of a friendship kind of a relationship then anything else. They bicker like siblings do. Which is one reason why I felt that way about them. Also you can tell Mare doesn’t feel anything for him. So at this very moment I do not see anything romantic happening between the two of them.

“I still had sting my eyes, prickling at Maven’s memory. It’s hard to forget him as he was. No. As he pretended to be. The kind, forgotten boy. The shadow of the flame.”

There isn’t much for me to say about now King Maven, because he is still the character I liked the least. Also because he wasn’t in the book that often. I do feel bad for him and hope he changes back to the way he was. Though I won’t count on it unless somehow Mare or Cal can help with that.  However, there was a few things that made me wish I could punch him in the face. Which is something I can’t do because then Mare would probably kill me.

The relationship between Mare and Maven has been annoying me. I enjoyed it in the first book but in this one, I am just cringing a lot. It’s like watching the worse cat and mouse chase ever to exist. Also you can tell that Mare and Maven still care for each other. Speaking of Mare and caring about him, it’s annoying how often she thinks about him. I wanted her to shut up so many times. I would have rather hear Cal talk about him more than Mare. Since he happens to be Cal’s half brother. However, I do know Maven is part of the reason why she has trust issues.

I absolutely love Shade and Farley. Those two are like the perfect duo. Both of whom help lead some of the Scarlet Guard. A rebellion that is trying to start a war against Silvers for equality. Shade is definitely more friendly than Mare is. Also his ability is so awesome. If I couldn’t have one of the abilities I want (which is listed down below) I’d pick his. Farley at first made me not fully trust her but in Glass Sword you got to see more to her. Making me like her more than I already had. I even liked how you get a little glimpse into Farley’s life. Which did leave me wondering something, so hoping the next book gives me answers.

Was excited that we got to meet a bunch of new characters. There is a few that I like a lot and cannot wait to see more of them. Most of these new characters are from Julien’s list that he gave Mare. It’s even nice to see the different abilities these other characters have. They’re very intriguing! Though I will say that I am jealous of Ada’s power. Which is what I want the most.  Also it happens to be a race against Maven to these other people who are like Mare.

“If I am a sword, I am a sword made of glass, and I feel myself beginning to shatter.”

I gave Glass Sword 4.5 stars because there was some things that I didn’t enjoy. Though I still recommend reading this series. It was going to be a trilogy but Victoria said there is too much that it needs to be extended to a fourth book. Also can we talk about the cover of the book? Love it! I even want the crown that is on the cover. Anyways that is all I have to say and if you read Glass Sword tell me what you thought in the comments.

Leave a Reply

