Book Review | A Court of Thorns & Roses

Title: A77493_original Court of Thorns & Roses (ACOTAR #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 416
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Published: May 5th 2015 by Bloomsbury
Rating: 5 Stars
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

Synopsis:

She stole a life. Now she must pay with her heart.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

My Review:

At first I wasn’t sure if I were going to pick this book up and read it because of the mixed views. Though I did buy it and I ended up loving it! While reading this book I could see the similarities that it has with Beauty and the Beast. However, it is very loosley based on the movie. Sarah J. Maas writing captivated me from the beginning. She put time into creating the characters and the world building. Which it definitely shows. Her imagination brought to the story was just unbelievably incredible! I honestly wish I could be there and live among them. How she described how the fae/faeries looked made me capable to imagine it. The details were written incredibly well. The plot was incredible.I have no idea where I want to begin.

“We need hope, or else we cannot endure.”

A Court of Thorns and Roses is set in a world where humans were once slaves to the faeries until they rose up 500 years ago. There was even a treaty peace put in place, protecting both sides. There is even a curse among some of the faeries. So, one day one of them goes out into the mortal land to then die at the hands of a Feyre. Which is pretty much where the story begins.

“Because I wouldn’t want to die alone,” I said, and my voice wobbled as I looked at Tamlin again, forcing myself to meet his stare. “Because I’d want someone to hold my hand until the end, and awhile after that.
That’s something everyone deserves, human or faerie.”

Feyre’s is our heroine. She’s incredibly fearless about going into the woods alone to hunt.The only one in her family who is willing to take the risk and go out into the woods during the most dangerous time. The winter months. However, she needs to make sure there is food on the table for her and her families survival. Since Feyre killed a wolf that happened to be a faerie, she is wisked away by Tamlin. Where she is trying to get away from them until time has passed and she gets to know them.

Tamlin is a shape-shifting faerie, who comes to the mortal land for revenge of one of his friends. To where he finds Feyre and her family. Who all are afraid of him since he is in his “beast” form. Also him and his people wear a mask 24/7 due to a curse in the Spring Court.  Which could be broken but no one can talk about it. Tamlin is a fascinating character that happens to have a lot on his shoulders. Particularly with whats going on with the faerie lands.

“Do you ever stop being so serious and dull?”
“Do you ever stop being such a prick?” I snapped back.
Dead—really, truly, I should have been dead for that.
But Lucien grinned at me. “Much better.”

Lucicen is my most favorite character. As soon as he was introduced I wasnpt sure of him but then I grew to freaking adored him. The only thing that bothered me was that there wasn’t enough of him in the book. I need more of him or even a novella based on him.
Lucien is Tamlins friend and confident. Also he happens to be  positively hilarious!

Rhys shook up the story as soon as he was introduced. Once you meet him you are wondering whom he is. Then you meet him. Which I immediatly disliked him, even when we go to see more of him. Though he did redeemed himself for me in the end of the book. However, I am still have my doubts about him.

“I stepped out of the shelter of my savior’s arm and turned to thank him. Standing before me was the most beautiful man I’d ever seen.”

There happens to be an insta love in this book, which I wasn’t surprised about. However, I was surprised at how long Feyre and Tamlin held off with not pursuing their feelings. You could tell they both wanted to kiss but never attempted it. But for some reason I didn’t feel like they were my otp. Maybe my mind will be made up in the second book.

I did enjoy that there was more than one High Lore and that they all belonged to the different courts. Also it was nice to get a glimpse into the things such as they faeries annual celebrations, their customs and ways of life. Their festivals seem both alluring and deadly. The imagery seemed so beautiful. Oh and the ending blew my mind. Was not entirely expecting that but somehow a little part of me was hoping it would happen.

Anyways, if you love retellings, fantasy, faeries; then you’ll love this book! I highly recommend it to everyone! Even plan on having my mother read it if she takes a break from playing her game on the phone. I am interested to see where things will go and hopefully get to see the different courts. Oh and the cover is absolutely stunning! So that is why I gave this book a 5 star rating. I just love it and cannot wait to jump into the second book. It is literally on my shelf waiting to be read. If you read this book lemme know what you thought and thank you for taking your time to read my review. Have a wonderful day!

“Because all the monsters have been let out of their cages tonight, no matter what court they belong to. So I may roam wherever I wish until the dawn.”

Leave a Reply

