Book Review | Coming Up for Air

Title: Coming22846825 Up for Air
Author: Miranda Kenneally
Pages: 320
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Published: July 1, 2017
Rating: 4 Stars
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis:

Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner. Homework. Bed. Repeat.

All of Maggie’s focus and free time is spent swimming. She’s not only striving to earn scholarships-shes’ training to qualify for the Olympics. It helps that her best friend, Levi, is also on the team and cheers her on. But Levi’s already earned an Olympic tryout, so she feels even more pressure to succeed. And it’s not until Maggie’s away on a college visit that she realizes how much of the “typical” high school experience she’s missed by being in the pool.

Not one to shy away from a challenge, Maggie decides to squeeze the most out of her senior year. First up? Making out with a guy. And Levi could be the perfect candidate. After all, they already spend a lot of time together. But as Maggie slowly starts to uncover new feelings for Levi, how much is she willing to lose?

My Review:

Special thanks to netgalley for providing me with an e-arc for an honest review

As soon as I saw the cover on Netgalley I clicked on it to read the synopsis. Which then pulled me in and I am so thankful I was chosen to read this e-arc. It was my first ever read by Miranda Kenneally. I thoroughly enjoyed it, even though it was a quick read. And I plan on buying it immediately. Now onto my review…

“So now what happens?” Georgia interrupts. “Are you still gonna see Shelby?”
Hunter plays with his friends. “I hope so.:
You must really like her,” I say.
“You’d probably be risking death to back to her house,’ Levi says.
“Then it’s a good thing it has all those secret passageways,” Hunter says, and we all burst out laughing.
This is what it’s always like for us.

In this book, our main character is Maggie, who is a swimmer. It so happens to be her entire life. Especially since her goal is to get into the Olympics and that won’t be easy. She is constantly comparing herself to others who are doing better than her. Maggie even realizes these sudden new “urges” in her life. Which makes her think twice about her high school experience. Her passion and self-determination is something that I admired. Things would come into her life but she’d do her best at swimming. She’s competive but also eager to get better and works immensely hard to do so. Very upfront about her feelings and literally lets nothing slide by. She deals with matters in the most honest and blunt way, to a point where it did feel a little awkward. However, there was points in this book where she came across as naive. The one major thing I enjoyed about her character was how much development she made throughout the book.

A definite highlight for me was her three great friends, who all have sports that they love more than life itself. Levi is her best friend, who is on the swim team with her. Hunter is the baseball teams star pitcher and Georgia is a cheerleader. I enjoyed seeing their friendship and it almost reminded me of The Unexpected Everything. Especially since they eat at a diner and sit a certain way like Andie and her friends. The friends even laugh about each others horrible experiences from Hunter’s night with Shelby to Maggie’s college experience.

Maggie is your typical busy high school student. She was focused on achieving her swimming goals and wouldn’t let anything stand in her way. Unless of course that is her rival Roxy. Who always seems to get inside Mag’s head. However, I felt like there wasn’t too much story involving the two girls. It was lacking a bit in that department. You understand why it all began and that Roxy posts things on the internet. Though once they see each other in person, you don’t see too much of the rivalry. It just didn’t work for me.

I love that sweatshirt. His last name is embroidered on the breast in cursive: Lucassen.
Soft from so many washings, it smells like him, and I love stealing it to wear, but he always nabs it right back because it’s his favorite.

I liked that Maggie and Levi start off as best friends before they hook. So once she heads off to college and has a horrible experience. She returns asking him for help since she feels comfortable with him. Though you could tell that Levi disapproved this exchange throughout the book. Which is understandable. This causes their once stable and steady friendship to get a little awkward. You see that they both begin to see each other in a new way. Shockingly, they both handle this extremely well so that their friendship stays intact. So no, it isn’t quite insta-love. Since it does develop further into the story as it progress. Though there is a conflict between the two which could ruin their friendship.

Here is why I gave it a four star rating instead of a five. While reading this book I did notice some grammar mistakes or a run on sentence. One happens to be a quote from the book that I used. I noticed a spot where she could’ve split it up into two sentences. Also like I said before I noticed there was a short gap missing from some scenes. Like between Levi and Maggie’s friendship to their sexual attraction for each other. Including the Roxy and Maggie rivalry. I felt like it needed more depth to the story. I also wanted more of a backstory from Levi, Hunter and Georgia. You do get a glimpse into their lives but not enough.

In this book I could relate my younger self  to Maggie’s thoughts and emotions. She’s a relatable character for girls in school still. It was a fun read especially during the superman briefs and condom-shopping scenes.Those are two scenes that made me laugh out loud. Even the game both Levi and Maggie play was a great scene since she always give him guys to choose from. That just so happens to involve the water. With that being said if you enjoy quick reads that involve friendship, swimming, romance and self-improvement. Then I highly recommend this book for you.

Leave a Reply

