January Wrap-Up

Okay before I get into this wrap-up I want to say that I will no longer be doing to be read posts. I have notice that I give up on reading when I have one or I get into a reading slump. Though I am hoping to read more books in the month of February than this month. Anyways, this month I read a total of six books. Though I am currently still reading a book that I did start in January but will count it as a February read.

The first book I read for this month was Scarlet, and I so glad I chose this. I’ve been wanting to finish off this series since I started Cinder. Since this is the second book in a series I will not give away too much what this book is about. Since it will contain spoilers. We meet Scarlet who is trying to figure out what has happened to grandmother. When she meets Wolf, who is a street fighter and may know where her grandmother is. Along the way she finds out a dark secret and encounters someone from book one. I gave this book a 5 star and this series has became one of my favorites..

The second read for me was Erased. It happened to be a quick read for me. Since this is another book apart of a series I will not go into too much details. Anna is on the run with the four boys who were kept in the lab in her basement. None of them remember much from their lives. There’s Nick, Cas, Trev and Sam, who has captured Anna’s attention.While on the run they figure out details from their life. Also doing their best to be kept seen from the Branch hunting them down. My rating for this book was 4 Stars.

The next book was The Vincent Boys. Ashton is tired of being good and be the perfect girlfriend to Sawyer everything thinks she is. Beau is Sawyer’s cousin but loves him like a brother. While Sawyer is away, Ashton and Beau grow closer together. They know that they shouldn’t but it’s getting harder to resist. There was some things I liked and others that I didn’t. Like how easy it was for Ashton to cheat. I honestly was hoping for a forbidden love but that wasn’t the case. Then there is other things that I did enjoy but won’t menti0n because it’s spoilers. I will be picking up the second book to see what happens but it won’t be anytime soon. I rated it a total of 3 Stars.

Coming up for Air was sent to me through Netgalley for an honest review. Which I already have a full review up on my blog. If your curious to know my total thoughts just click here. For Maggie her day consists with lots of swimming. While away on a college visit she realizes that she missed out on the “typical” high school experience. So has her friend, Levi, help her out with one of these experiences. However, Maggie starts to realize feelings him, that could get in the way of her dreams. I really enjoyed this and cannot wait to own a pyshical copy of it.  Also plan on reading more by Miranda Kenneally. I gave this 4 stars.

After that I started reading The Thousandth Floor. It takes place 100 years into the future/ New York City, where everyone wants something or has something to lose. There’s five teenagers struggling to find their place at the top of the world. However, this book was a DNF for me. There was 5 POVs and too many side characters to keep track of whom was who. Also I couldn’t connect with any of the characters. There was also the fact there was two characters pinning away for each other but couldn’t be together. It seemed to me to be pointless to even have it in the book. However, since I didn’t finish it, I have no idea if they end up together or not. Nor do I honestly care to know. The only thing that I did enjoy was everyone wears contacts that act like computers. Rating: 1.5 Stars

The final book I read for the month of January was The Forbidden Wish. This book was intoxicating for me. Back when I got a few chapters in a e-arc through Netgalley; I was craving more. I wanted more even after I finished it. This book is about Aladdin discovering a Jinni’s lamp, that belongs to one Zahra. Where she is thrust back into the world after hundred of years being trapped inside the lamp. Along the way they come across a group of ninja fighting girls, a Prince and his father driven to rule, and the King of the Jinn. Who has a request for Zahra, that if she succeeds, he will give her the one thing she wishes for. I gave this book 5 stars and will have a full review up soon!

And that my friends, is it! If you made it this far, thank you for reading this. Let me know in the comments what you read for this month. Also have you read these? What did you think? Please let me know! If you have any book recommendations please feel free to suggest some. I am always looking for new books to read.

Leave a Reply

