Book Review | The Unexpected Everything

17838528Title: The Unexpected Everything
Author: Morgan Matson
Pages: 519
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Published: May 3, 2016
Rating: 4 stars
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Bookoutlet | Book Depository

Synopsis:

Andie had it all planned out. When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised herself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future. Important internship? Check. Amazing friends? Check.  Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life, you can never find the unexpected. And where’s the fun in that?

My Review:

“You need to dial it back,” Palmer said as she pulled out her phone. “Like this afternoon, you texted me ‘I’m so whale, dancing girl, dancing girl, blushing smiley, nervous teeth smiley, star, star, pizza.'” She looked up from her phone. “What was that supposed to mean?”

Andie is of course the main character, who has everything she wants happening until her fathers scandal. The internship of her dreams gets taken away from her. Her friends are too busy with their own stuff. Also she’s not use to her father being around. So Andie goes out to find a job to keep her occupied during the summer. Bringing her to being a dog walker, which she has no experience with. I liked how she quickly picked herself up and went out to focus on something else. Instead of dwelling on losing the chance to be an intern. However, how Andie handles her relationships was something I didn’t like. It seemed like she didn’t care to be with these guys. Since they never really lasted long.

Speaking of relationships, she does have a friends-with-benefits with a guy. Though they keep it a secret. That is until she meets Clark. Who I didn’t like at first. There was just something about him that seemed off to me. However, I did like how he seemed nervous whenever he was around Andie. Also that he is nerdy. Normally the love interest is a bad boy or popular. Probably why I wanted her to be with the guy who she secretly hooked up with. Though I will say there isn’t too many romance scenes in the book. It has enough of everything that is involved in Andie’s life.

“Palmer’s jaw dropped.
“You what?” she gasped.
“Fictionally,” Clark explained hurriedly. “It’s not like she was a real person.”
“Clearly not to you,” I huffed.
“You bastard,” Tom said, now glaring at Clark as well.
“Wait, why are you upset?” Clark asked, sounding baffled.
“Because it’s all coming back to me now,” he said, shaking his head at Clark. “Really, how could you have done that?”

Andie and her friends are literally real life teens. From boy crushing, heartbreak, emoji, jokes and so much more. Speaking of the emoji part, I was sometimes confused at what Toby was saying. I felt like Palmer who is literally trying to figure out what she’s saying. However, I loved how she used them to speak to her friends. Toby, Palmer and Bri were such different individuals that they fit perfectly together as friends with Andie. Though Toby and Bri were two peas in a pod.

I was not disappointed with this book . Being filled with dogs, love, friendship, family, career and self improvement.It was definitely about living in the moment, especially for Andie. Some scenes had me laughing out loud and then another had me crying. That scene was so well written that it made me feel like I was there and one of the characters. One of my favorite scenes was the scavenger hunt. Oh, totally forgot to mention that there’s that in this incredible book. Now, throughout the book you do have snippets of a story called Murder of Crows written by C.B. McCallister, also there is text messages between the friends. I have to say that The Unexpected Everything is definitely a summer read. Which is when I started to read this book. Just not when I finished it. That is why I ended up giving it a four star rating. If I hadn’t kept putting it down, it would’ve been a five star. This is my first time reading a Morgan Matson book. I purchased it because it was hyped in the book community and also I adored the cover. How can you not pick up a book with dogs on it? So that is my review. If you’ve read this book, feel free to leave a comment telling me what you liked and/or didn’t like.

Leave a Reply

