Book Review | Done Dirt Cheap

29330971Title: Done Dirt Cheap
Author: Sarah  Nicole Lemon
Pages: 336
Genre: YA, Contemporary
Published: March 7, 2017
Rating: 5 Stars
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:

Tourmaline Harris’s life hit pause at fifteen, when her mom went to prison because of Tourmaline’s unintentionally damning testimony. But at eighteen, her home life is stable, and she has a strong relationship with her father, the president of a local biker club known as the Wardens.

Virginia Campbell’s life hit fast-forward at fifteen, when her mom “sold” her into the services of a local lawyer: a man for whom the law is merely a suggestion. When Hazard sets his sights on dismantling the Wardens, he sends in Virginia, who has every intention of selling out the club-and Tourmaline.

But the two girls are stronger than the circumstances that brought them together, and their resilience defines the friendship at the heart of this powerful debut novel.

My Review:

Special thanks to netgalley for providing me with an e-arc for an honest review

“We’re friends because when girls-women-are alone in this world, they’re easier to pick off.”

Where do I start with this book? How about that I absolutely love it!! The first time I heard about this book, I was immediately pulled in. Then people were saying that its similar to Sons of Anarchy, made me desperately need this incredible novel by Sarah. One thing is that I was not one bit disappointed by all the hype this book was getting. I’m very pleased that it lived up to my expectations. I desperately needed more from this world. The novel hooks you in right from the beginning. Sarah is ridiculously a good writer. The plot was perfectly well written also! Done Dirt Cheap is a unique, captivating, sexy ride, and a breath of fresh air! I got lost in this world and plan on diving back in soon!

“The night and shadows and moonlight mixed in Virginia’s hair, seeming to pout out of her body as if she were emitting the night itself.”

There was the occasional poetic writing, which I have grown to love in books. It had everything I expected to be in this book…badass female protagonists, no instalove, motorcycles and of course two girls from different worlds becoming friends. Throughout the book you see both girls overcome certain obstacles that have been thrown their way or trying to navigate their future. However there is physical, mental and emotional abuse, as well as racial discrimination and of drug use. So if you are not okay with any of that then maybe this isn’t the book for you.

‘”Why do you sleep on the floor?”
“It feels safer.”
“Why do you have a mattress?”
“So I don’t look like a serial killer when I bring a woman back.”‘

I loved how Sarah described characters. It was fun trying to imagine what they looked like from the description that was given. Jason has to be my favorite character in this novel because he has some sass and great lines. Like the one above. Now there’s two different love interests. One happens to be a POC. Tourmaline and Virginia’s friendship is what every girl wishes for. Both girls come from different backgrounds.  They both give each other support and don’t judge each other for their past or mistakes. Making them more connected than they originally thought. I love their friendship. This story is realistic, because it shows us that we are humans and it’s okay to make mistakes.

“Wow, you really showed him,” Virginia said dryly.
“Your commentary is so  helpful.”
“I try.” Virginia stood like a rousing panther, bringing all her power back into her limbs.”

This book pulled me in to the point that I never wanted it to end.Not once did I want to put this novel down. Sarah’s writing is remarkable, which is probably also why I want to reread it again. It was captivating. For this being her debut novel, it was glorious! All I know is I need more from her. You get enough details of both girls backstory throughout the book. Including their love interests. The romance was crafted perfectly! The plot is based around their friendship and what circumstances brings them together. It is a powerful debut and I couldn’t be happier to have gotten the chance to read this in advanced. If you haven’t purchased this book then what are you waiting for? It is definitely one of my favorite books of 2017 so far. Today is the release day and I HIGHLY recommend that you go and buy it!  That is all for my review and I really do hope you read this fantastic novel.

“I’m not a jealous person,” she said. “I won’t tell you what to do or how to do it, because you’re a grown ass man and that’s not my job. I’m not your mother and I’m not God. I’m a cold-hearted daughter of the devil; and if you betray me, I’ll get my revenge and walk as light by you as you can by me. And if that scares you, you should leave now.”

Leave a Reply

