Book Review | The Other Inheritance

cover104405-mediumTitle: The Other Inheritance
Author: Rebecca Jaycox
Pages: 314
Genre: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Fantasy
Published: Feb 1, 2017
Rating: 2.5 Stars
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:

One girl. Two worlds. Hunted in both.

Seventeen-year-old Reggie Lang is used to dealing with her alcoholic mother and fighting school bullies, but fate has thrown her a curve ball.

A biker dude shows up in her dreams, babbling about magic and a world called the Other. As the incidents keep piling up-like bringing a frog back to life in class-Reggie has to confront the mounting evidence that she’s not the normal girl she craves to be.

Reggie’s life is changing, and she has no idea why. Or whether she should believe the man in her dreams, who claims she’s in danger and that only he can keep her safe. But if there’s one thing Reggie will learn, nowhere is safe.

My Review:

Special thanks to netgalley for providing me with an e-arc for an honest review

There isn’t really much for me to say about this book. Except it wasn’t a favorite of mine. I did end up finishing it and wanting to see what continues in the next book. Just out of curiosity. I did end up giving it 2.5 stars because there was a few things that I did like but not too much. Only two quotes from the book stood out to me the most. Only because they made me laugh to myself. For awhile I was torn between liking this book or not but finally made my decision. Now onto what I thought about this interesting read.

“The Hell’s Angels called. They want their motorcycle back.” His rough exterior stood at odds with the delicate furniture and pink-veined marble fireplace.
He laughed. “Hell’s Angels? Never head that before.”
“Really? The leather look of doom isn’t deliberate?”

Reggie is a young girl who comes into her powers while in school. Now we don’t get to experience this, which I wish we did but she does mention what happened. People consider her a freak and she felt like one. Especially for bringing dead things back to life. Reggie also takes of her mother who is an alcoholic, but for me it felt there were holes in the story line. However, I would have enjoyed experiencing her get her powers but it was just mentioned and that was it. I thought it’d be more thrilling to go through her emotions of witnessing what was happening. Though I did like that Reggie proved she didn’t need a guy to take care of her. Since everyone wanted to protect her. Also Reggie believed everything she heard. Not once did she second guess anything. Reggie was so willingly to go with a complete stranger to the Other. Not even caring that she could be in danger. Just trusting that he wouldn’t harm her.

Now it is very instalove which I of course wasn’t pleasant with. It was love at first for them. Oh and spoiler, they even have sex after two days of knowing each other. Normally I don’t like putting spoilers in but come on, two days after knowing each other Also there was also the hot and cold Asher kept giving Reggie throughout the book. Giving me another thing I didn’t enjoy. Like he wasn’t doing too good of a job keeping Reggie away from him and also Reggie not being completely affected by his emotions. Most girls would get frustrated by the situation.

If he saw a gingerbread house or the big bad wolf, he’d run like hell.

The writing wasn’t all that great and I noticed a couple of errors. However, some details were so well written, like I could imagine when someone was using magic but a lot of other times not so much.  The plot was lacking. As if it were not fully finished being constructed. I never connected with the characters though I did like one of the characters (can’t remember his name but the wolf). He was somewhat entertaining. And that’s all I have to say. I feel bad that this is a short review but it’s all I had on my mind. Netgalley happens to have the second book in the series and I was approved for it. I am hoping that it is better but we shall see soon! If you read this book please tell me what you thought.

Leave a Reply

