Book Review | At First Blush

cover108428-mediumTitle: At First Blush
Author: Beth Ellyn Summer
Pages: 340 (Kindle)
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Published: April 4, 2017
Rating: 5 Stars
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble |

Synopsis:

Who would have thought that a teenager could have a successful career creating makeup tutorial videos on YouTube? For Lacey Robbins, this dream has been her reality. An up-and-coming YouTuber, she has thousands of fans and can’t wait for the day when her subscriber count reaches the one million mark. And when she if offered a high school internship at On Trend Magazine, she figures that this could be the make it or break it moment.

But sometimes your dream job isn’t all that it seems. Her editor is only interested in promoting junk products, and her boss in the Hair and Makeup department introduces her to the larger world of makeup artistry, making her wonder if making tutorials online is all she meant to do. To top it all off, when the magazine’s feature subject, musician Tyler Lance, turns his broodingly handsome smile her way, falling for him could mean losing her fans, forcing her to make a decision: her YouTube life or her real life?

Fans of Zoella’s Girl Online will fall right into the world of this YA The Devil’s Wears Prada and stay hooked from the first blush to the last glossy kiss.

My Review:

Special thanks to netgalley for providing me with an e-arc for an honest review

I thoroughly enjoyed this. Liked how there was three different YouTubers with their own genre of vlogging. Also the writing was beautifully written. Pulled me all the way to the end. As I am writing this review I wish I had kept my copy of this so I could read this all over again. It kept me captivated, kept telling myself that I wouldn’t stay up late to read but I did.

“One time, I played my bird call app throughout rehearsal. Drove him insane all day trying to find where the birds were coming from. When I showed him the app, he actually laughed.”

Lacey is your typical beauty blogger who’s trying to get more known and sponsorships. You see her through that and it causes a lot of attention to gossip online. Lacey definitely has some character growth towards the end. Now for Tyler, he comes off as arrogant and rude but once he’s around Lacey you see a different side of him. You could see he felt comfortable around her, causing him to open up about his past. Also like how Lacey was able to make friends through her experience. I enjoyed the scenes that had Jordan and Felicia. My least favorite characters were Tyler’s brothers. You also see the struggles Lacey and her parents go through and her emotions towards it. Truthfully I wanted more at the end of the book. Like maybe an epilogue or a second book. I just wanted to know what happens with Tyler and Lacey since they did have some troubles with their relationship. Even wouldn’t mind seeing Lacey’s future with her career and maybe her friendship with the other two YouTubers. My favorite scene happened to be when Jordan and Lacey bonded at the internship when Tyler was in the room.

The romance wasn’t completely instalove because Lacey seemed unsure if she should be in a relationship with him. Also because it did seem a bit like a slow build of a relationship. They were friends at first and then started dating and of course dating a heartthrob could cause problems. There isn’t much I can say because a lot that happened does contain spoilers and I’m trying not to spoil stuff.

“You look absolutely ridiculous.”
“And you’re seriously improving with the sweet talk.”
I shrug. “I’ve been practicing.”

That is all I have to say about this book. I honestly plan on getting it again just so I can read it whenever I want. For example, I’d like to read it right now. I do recommend this read for anyone. Especially those who loves beauty, music or just a good contemporary.

Leave a Reply

