Book Review | Descent

25459663

Title: Descent (Son of a Mermaid Book 1)
Author: Katie O’Sullivan
Pages: 338 (Kindle)
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Published: July 15, 2015
Rating: 2.5 Stars
Purchase: Amazon

Synopsis:

Shea MacNamara’s life just got complicated. When a freak tornado devastates his Oklahoma farm, fifteen-year-old Shea moves to Cape Cod to live with a grandmother he’s never met. Struggling to make sense of his new surroundings, he meets a girl along the shore who changes his life.

Forever.

Kae belongs to an undersea world hidden from humans, where bloody war rages between opposing clans. A fragile peace accord hinges on marriage between the royal families, but treachery and magick lurk in every shadow.

With Kae’s help, Shea discovers his true heritage and finds that his destiny lies somewhere far below the ocean’s surface.

My Review:

Special thanks to netgalley for providing me with an e-arc for an honest review

I am highly disappointed with this book. I happen to be fascinated by mermaids and tornadoes. So when I read the synopsis for this I knew I had to read this. However, it turns out this wasn’t the read for me. I kept wanting to DNF it but I pushed myself through it so I could give an honest review of it. I do believe others would highly enjoy this read which I do recommend picking the Descent up. I just do not plan on continuing on with the series. Katie O’Sullivan is an excellent writer, which is something I could see and the story is different from others that I have read. Which is why I recommend this book.

I will say that I wish there was more details of a war going on but there wasn’t much to show. Even towards the end of the Descent.¬†Something that bothered me about this story was how during the tornado drill, when Shea is sitting at the top of the gym bleachers. Technically you’re supposed to be low to the ground. Also the tornado appearing out of nowhere with blue skies? That never happens, however it is explained why that it occurred that was.

Also I just kept putting the book down. I wasn’t interested no matter how badly I love mermaids. Although I did push myself through it to give an honest review other than not finishing it. It starts off in Oklahoma then once Shea is technically an orphan, his grandmother shows up to move him to Massachusetts. There is multiple point of views, but it’s mostly in Shea’s point of view. Shea does come across as ungrateful and rude towards his grandmother. Who is doing her best to raise him and get to know him. Then we have Prince Demyan who everyone fears since he doesn’t think twice about killing. His loyal subject Zan is the other point of view who bows down for Demyan though you can tell he wants out. Kae is the other point of view and she’s the mermaid who’s supposed to stay in the water and away from Shea. However, she doesn’t listen. While Shea lives in Cape Code he learns that he has these powers and something happens to him after he goes into the ocean. Also found it a bit annoying when it mentioned what garbage Shea found on the beach.

I didn’t bother finding quotes to use because all I wanted to do was finish this immediately. Towards the end of the book it felt like the story was developing better. So maybe the next book will be better but I do not plan on finishing this series. Which is a bummer because I love mermaids. Maybe this read would be better suited for middle grade but who knows. If you are curious about this book then I do recommened picking it up.

Leave a Reply

