May Wrap-Up

Welcome to my May Wrap-Up. For the month of May I read a total of 7 books. I did start off with a slow start because I ended up having a tiny reading slump. However, I knew what would get me out of one. Also before I get into the books I’ve read for this month, I have notice that I am horrible at my own synopsis of the books. So, I will from now on link the Good Reads page to each book.

77493_originalThe first book I read was A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. Which I happened to already read. Anyways, this book is about a girl named Feyre, who goes hunting in the woods to put dinner on the table for her family, when she comes across a wolf. Next thing she knows shes being dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie. While there she slowly falls for her captor and has to figure out how to break this ancient curse or lose him forever. I know there is some problems with Sarah J. Maas books in the book community and I do notice those problems, but I also love her books. I do already have a review up on this which you can click here to view and like before, I gave this 5 stars.

17927395A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas was the second book I read for this month. Which I wont describe what this book is about since it is the second book in the series, but in case you want to know more about just click on the title of the book. I do not currently have a book review up but I will soon! This happens to be the second time reading this book for me and I just loved so much about this book. Well except for Tamlin. My favorite parts was when we met Rhys friends aka family and where they live. Also chapter 55, I mean come on, how could you not? I do plan on having my mom read this series because I believe she will love it too. Also she is in the need to read some books. Other than that, it took me longer to read this the second time around not sure why. I still gave it 5 stars and do plan on reading this series over and over again in the future. I will talk more about my thoughts on this book in the review. I know if i keep talking about it now I won’t be able to stop.

31451174Obviously I read the other two books because of this one. A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas was the third book I read for this month. Now I didn’t get it as soon as it came out because had to drive half an hour to go to a Target to pick it up. Of course I got the Target exclusive and absolutely love the signed autograph on the book. Which I will post a photo in the book review which will be up soon! So much happened in this book that it was hard for me to figure out what to talk about without spoilers. However, my favorite scene was the battle. How it was written, was incredible. I did laugh out loud at some parts like when Cassian came flying up out of the darkness. I also did cry. Now I am not sure which one is my favorite book, it is a tie with this one and ACOMAF. There was just stuff that happened in this book that touched me just about the same with the second book. I did rate this 5 stars. I cannot wait to see what the next half of the series will be. It’s going to bug me that I can’t read them now.

17399160Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch, I had picked this book up from the library before but had to return it because I never got around to reading it. However, I did enjoy this but not enough to want to finish the series now. This book is about the Kingdom of Winter being conquered and the people being enslaved for sixteen years. Leaving them without magic and a monarch. Their only hope is the eight survivors that managed to escape to steal back the magic and rebuild the kingdom. We follow Meira who will do anything for her kingdom and her best friend, who she loves, the future king, Mather. Even if means going after the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic by herself. However, she will realize that her destiny was never her own… Now I am not sure why this book made me give it only 4 stars but all I know is that it wasn’t a favorite read. I did like the book just not enough to give it 5 stars. Also I kind of predicted what was going to happen at the end of the book with Meira and wasn’t surprised at all when it happened. I will finish this series but not sure when.

12294652My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick was the only contemporary book that I read for this month. This book follows Samantha who lives next door to the Garrett’s, who’ve always been off-limits according to her mother. However, Samantha always sit on her rooftop perch, watching and wishing she were them. Then one summer evening Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and everything changes. Samantha is thrown into their lives while falling for Jase, but she’s also keeping them a secret from her mother. Until one day she faced with an impossible decision. Leaving her torn between what to do and what is right… I adored this book, the relationship with the Garrett’s and Samantha was incredible. I even like some conflicts that was put in this book. It wasn’t my favorite contemporary book but I did like it enough to give it 4 stars. My favorite character was George and favorite scene was when Samantha’s best friend and her brother showed up and he was acting like he was saved. That was just amazing, I laughed so hard. Cause I know people who would totally do that. Anyways I am reviewing this but not sure when it’ll be posted.

452717The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Anderson wasn’t at all what I expected. Now I didn’t expect to be exactly like the Disney version but thought it was going to be different from what I read. Obviously everyone should know about this so I won’t post a tiny synopsis here but will say I actually didn’t enjoy it. I think my expectations were let down. I kept hearing how this was darker than the Disney version but truthfully it wasn’t. Now this one was illustrated by Charles Santore, which some of it was incredible. I do plan on looking at different version of The Little Mermaid but won’t be putting them in my Wrap-Up since the only that should change is the illustrations. Oh and my reason for reading this was because The Little Mermaid is my favorite Disney movie and Ariel is my favorite Disney Princess. I ended up giving this 2 stars.

20560137The last book I read for this month was An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. In this book we follow to characters Laia and Elias. For Laia, she has to risk her life to spy on the Empire’s greatest military academy for the rebels who promise to rescue her brother. Who was arrested for treason. While spying, she meets Elias, who wants to be free tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. Both of them will soon see that their destinies are intertwined and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself…I through enjoyed this book. A couple scenes did have me confused but once I read a bit more I was able to understand what was happening. Also there was times that Laia’s character annoyed me but then she proved to herself and me that she isn’t as helpless as she thought. Which made me grow to like her. I also liked how Elias was aware of what was happening was completely wrong. Even if it put him at risk of being a traitor. I will say one major thing I did not like was the love square. It was frustrating so much that I mentioned it to my mom. Not sure if she listened since she does a good job of tuning things out. Anyways I gave this 4.5 stars and I want to read the next book as of yesterday.

That’s what I read for the month of May. If you have any suggestion that are related to An Ember in the Ashes or books about Faeries, can you please recommend them to me please? I’d like to read more books like those. Also, should I add the dates that I read the books or no? Oh and I might do a July TBR. Haven’t done one in awhile but I’d like to see if I can stick to it or should I give up completely on doing them.

Leave a Reply

